Route 66 National Cycle Network – Pocklington to York.

I cycled around 19 miles today along the National Cycle Network Route 66. It was a pleasant journey and it was the things I happened upon on my way that really made it.
image

The ride I cycled was from Pocklington to York, 14 miles as the crow flies, but more like 18 as the cyclist weaves. Route 66 of the National Cycle Network makes its way from Hull across and down to Manchester, taking in York, Leeds, Bradford, and Rochdale along the way. Not the most direct route but a good one nonetheless. The alternative for cycling to York is along the A1079, not the friendliest of roads for a steady Saturday pedal.

image
Local eggs £2.00 a dozen.

I stopped after just ten minutes a bit outside of Wilberfoss, when I saw a sign for eggs out the front of someones house, there was a weathered wooden table with a coolbox and an honesty box. I don’t understand supermarket pricing of eggs, they are just so expensive when compared to the real deal, local, fresh eggs. £2 a dozen is the going rate round here, and of course they are fresh, good eggs with hard shells and bright yolks. Value for money.

It is more than just the produce that you get from supporting local eggs though. On my first break of the ride this morning, I found myself standing at a gentleman’s front garden gate, as he regaled me with snippets of his life. He doesn’t eat eggs, the egg man, for he had meningitis when he was 10. 75 now, he also doesn’t eat cheese, says it would make him sick if he ate it, he would actually be sick. I asked how many hens he had, and proudly he told me they have around 40 now. Before I could find a way to phrase the question as to why he keeps hens when he can’t eat eggs, he provided me with the answer, “My wife loves eggs, that’s why we first started keeping chickens.”

He used to “put em in ‘otpot,” when the hens got old and died, now though he digs them a hole. Just wonderful, I thoroughly enjoyed these stories and like to think that he too enjoyed the conversation. I wish I had asked his name. Next time.

image
Honey bee on a dog rose.

I saw all kinds of natural wonder, and tried to capture some of it in photos. This time of year is great, today being the ‘second day of summer’, the flora are growing and the fauna frolicking. I only got rained on once, for no more than a quarter of an hour. I came across (heard/saw) several pheasants, lots of buzzing bees, and my personal favourite the swallows dive bombing and zigzagging across the sky. I was sure I saw a flash of gold rocket up out of the wheat as I disturbed the peace cycling past on the track. I stopped and crooked my neck round to try and identify what species of bird it may be but it moved far too fast then remained elusive. I’m not a birder, so the RSPB identifier was useful to speculate more accurately as to what it may have been I saw.

image
Swallows play

I enjoyed my adventure on two wheels, I would recommend the route if you are in the area. The loops around Dunnington are particularly pleasant, with open fields and good views yet still with consistently good track.

image

Route 66 is part of the National Cycle Network. Sustrans do really good work helping to maintain and develop the route, you’ll find useful information from them online. Near Dunnington and Stamford Bridge is the brilliant Balloon Tree, a farmshop, café, and pick your own; it’s well worth a visit if you’re in the area.

Leave a Reply

